Prime Minister Constantine Karamanlis (1907-1998) (E. Antistaseos – Mouson). / Πρωθυπουργός Κωνσταντίνος Καραμανλής (1907-1998) (Ε. Αντιστάσεως – Μουσών).

SKU: SLM-028 Categories: ,

He was born in Proti Serres and died in Athens. He served four times as Prime Minister and twice as President of the Hellenic Republic. He was politicized from the 1930s as a candidate for the People’s Party. Later, he joined the Hellenic Alarm of Alexandros Papagos, after whose death in 1955 he was appointed Prime Minister by King Paul. During his first term as prime minister, in the eight years 1955-63, he implemented a program of rapid industrialization, investment in infrastructure projects and improvement of agricultural production, which led to the Greek economic miracle.
After a conflict with the palace, he resigned as prime minister in 1963 and moved to Paris, where he remained until July 1974. He was then called upon by the military dictatorship to take over the country’s political government and form a government of national unity. He founded the New Democracy party and organized the November 1974 elections, in which the ND won 54.4% of the vote. During his second term as Prime Minister (1974-80), he was recognized for the successful restoration of the Republic, which ended the political instability of about half a century. He is credited the accession of Greece to the European Union, for which reason in 1978 he was awarded the Charlemagne Prize. He was elected President of the Republic twice, in 1980 and in 1990.
During his prime ministership, the settlements of Saint Panteleimon and Finikas were created in Kalamaria. In 1962, the natives and refugees, who were rehabilitated in Finikas, placed a marble plaque in its central park, as a sign of gratitude to him.
Γεννήθηκε στην Πρώτη Σερρών και πέθανε στην Αθήνα. Διετέλεσε τέσσερις φορές πρωθυπουργός και δύο πρόεδρος της Ελληνικής Δημοκρατίας. Πολιτεύθηκε από τη δεκαετία του 1930 ως υποψήφιος του Λαϊκού Κόμματος. Αργότερα, εντάχθηκε στον Ελληνικό Συναγερμό του Αλέξανδρου Παπάγου, μετά τον θάνατο του οποίου ορίστηκε το 1955 πρωθυπουργός. Κατά την πρώτη πρωθυπουργία του, την οκταετία 1955-1963, εφάρμοσε ένα πρόγραμμα ταχείας εκβιομηχάνισης, επένδυσης σε έργα υποδομής και βελτίωσης της γεωργικής παραγωγής, το οποίο οδήγησε στο Ελληνικό Οικονομικό Θαύμα.
Μετά από σύγκρουσή του με το παλάτι παραιτήθηκε από την πρωθυπουργία το 1963 και μετοίκησε στο Παρίσι, όπου παρέμεινε μέχρι τον Ιούλιο του 1974. Τότε κλήθηκε να αναλάβει την πολιτική διακυβέρνηση της χώρας και σχημάτισε κυβέρνηση εθνικής ενότητας. Ίδρυσε το κόμμα της Νέας Δημοκρατίας και οργάνωσε τις εκλογές του 1974, στις οποίες η ΝΔ απέσπασε το 54,4% των ψήφων. Κατά τη δεύτερη πρωθυπουργική θητεία του (1974-80), αναγνωρίστηκε για την επιτυχή αποκατάσταση της δημοκρατίας οπότε τερματίστηκε η πολιτική αστάθεια περίπου μισού αιώνα. Του αποδίδεται η ένταξη της Ελλάδας στην Ευρωπαϊκή Ένωση, γι’ αυτό τον λόγο το 1978 του απονεμήθηκε το Βραβείο Καρλομάγνου. Εκλέχθηκε πρόεδρος της Δημοκρατίας δυο φορές, το 1980 και το 1990.
Επί πρωθυπουργίας του δημιουργήθηκαν στην Καλαμαριά οι οικισμοί του Αγίου Παντελεήμονα και του Φοίνικα. Το 1962, οι γηγενείς και οι πρόσφυγες, οι οποίοι αποκαταστάθηκαν στεγαστικά στον Φοίνικα, τοποθέτησαν μαρμάρινη πλάκα σε κεντρικό πάρκο του, ως ένδειξη ευγνωμοσύνης προς αυτόν.

contact info
Stay informed with our newsletter!

© 2022 Myró Antiques House. All rights reserved.

Send this to a friend